Final Design sheets + Design Statement

FINAL

Design Statement

At the start of this project I felt a bit cautious about trying new things. I had read the brief and panicked. I wondered what this brief would require and where I could take it. We were taken to the Design Museum in London to spark up and flair some ideas.  It was very inspirational to see all these great modern works of art in which portrayed a new thought and process on design. The abstract ideas thriving throughout this place really had me set and rearing to go.

There were many pieces in the museum that caught my eye, however 3 items in particular. Some Ears created out of stainless steel that were created to mimic the ear of their owner. I loved this idea, as i feel ears are personal to people as they are all different. There was a duck crafted by silver, plexiglass, rigid foam and lacquer. I really appreciated the shape and finish of the duck, it appeared very glossy and visually pleasing to me. Finally there were the warrior brooches, the colour and material used really sparked some thoughts for me, as I could make that from my own home.

My thoughts after this were relatively literal. What can I create with a material we see every day that no one see’s as a design tool? My first thoughts were cork, as cork has many nice properties, it still lacked mobility and freedom in my opinion, not to forget there were many designs I had seen that used cork. I then considered a strong and flexible material, I considered using a bike chain. At first thought I believed I could do many things with a bike chain, turns out you cannot unless you have the right equipment. This lead me to a rethink. Paper clips was the next item that popped into my head and this material met all my demands and established what I wanted in a material, it was flexible and fairly strong.  Not to forget that it easy to get hold of them and manipulate them from home.  The main thing was is that they are simple and unexpected.

Paper clips was the item I would later go on to experiment a lot further with. After playing around with them for a matter of weeks I realised that the obvious  process of bending the paper clips into a shape was simply not enough. It did not appeal to me.  I decided to purchase more paper clips, and as I threw them down onto the paper I discovered that it created a wonderful texture ,  the texture was almost kinetic and represented movement. I just kept buying more and more paper clips and meshing them together to create shapes.  These shapes showed me that paper clips in numbers looked great.

I incorporated my design into a poster an image I created out of the paper clips. The purpose of my design is to get people thinking out of the box. To use materials they wouldn’t consider for design and creative purposes. What better way than to represent this in a double meaning. I used a light bulb shape to represent how an idea has come to mind. The fact that the light bulb is made out of paper clips represented my character thinking out of the box.

 

Leave a comment