Project Recap

When we were assigned the project to create a 30 second long kinetic typography piece, about a month a go i didn’t really know what to expect as i was not sure what this would involve. I love the idea behind making a piece of kinetic typography as it generally is an exciting project. Kinetic typography is a really expressive piece of work as you can express yourself through words, but at the same time expressing the word through movement, so i feel it is really cutting edge.

When thinking about my project a few things came into my mind:

1. a song:  so displaying lyrics

2. a political speech- Barack Obama

3. A film clip- Forrest Gump

I chose to do a Forrest Gump scene as i absolutely adore the film, and i know the most about it so i felt it would be the easiest choice. Also Forrest Gump has a very unique voice and would stand out, not to forget it is such a famous film people would love it. I feel his voice would be expressed well through words.

Colour ideas- After watching the film numerous times, i felt that simplicity would be the key to this project. With a basic light blue and white i feel would suit him has a character as he is quite stupid ‘stupid is as stupid does’ therefore making it simple would be the most effective. I also saw these colours on the front cover of the dvd and feel this would be perfect.

Choosing the right clip: i had 3 different sound clips all that could be used effectively however one really stood out to me as it had two different voices behind it, as it had this official announcers voice and Forrest’s voice. This is why  chose is as it would make my piece more versatile.

Looking for the right font: I used the website: Dafont.com as a way of narrowing down the right font to use for my work. A came up with a huge selection of fonts however when trying to put them on the university computers it did not seem to work. So i found the perfect font through after effects called chalkboard. Its not to dissimilar from Comic sans however not to similar as that would be a crisis. Its perfect has a quirky comical edge but with a sense of sophistication to make it seem a bit more professional.

After finding a good font, i created a story board in my sketch book, with lots of ideas in to how i was actually going to create my piece. I came up with numerous ideas as a way of representing his voice in a fun and exciting manner. For example i shaped the word football into the shape of an american football, this would fly across the screen like having thrown a ball.

After sketching my ideas on paper, i created a grid on photoshop and created the work plan digitally scene by scene to get an idea of what it would look like. This worked well as i now have a full proof plan for when i begin my work and i now know all the words behind the video.

I am now watching numerous after effects tutorials on youtube and this has given me a few more ideas. Hopefully these tutorials will be a great help to me and my project.

Overall i feel i have a very good basis to work from, however my after effects skills are not very good yet, i need to set more time for myself to practice, as currently i find after effects very daunting and hard. But i should be able to sort this out with lots of practice.

Leave a comment